Crafting Journey, Threads of Life: TV Shows, Podcasts & Music!

Hello hello and welcome to entry numero dos.

This is week I’ve been caught up with so much shit to do so I haven’t made a lot of progress actually. But let’s jump into this week’s crafting journey. Still the same piece:1.jpg

This is what I’ve got so far. I continued with the dark greys as shadows as well as the whites to imitate the fluff of the clouds. Then I got stuck there for a bit, I didn’t know how to fill the rest of the spaces. At first I wanted to cascade it to dark blue so it’ll be like white – light grey – dark grey – grey – dark blue. But the minimalist that I am, I didn’t have any other colors that would go along nicely with this whole color combo. Whic makes me think I need to buy more colors but I’m trying to be more conservative with my money and to imply the saying “Less is More” or “Don’t focus on what you don’t have, but focus on what you do have” (am I making these sayings up? I think so.) Point is, I was broke and I just had to make it work somehow. So I decided to just go straight to the dark blue color and I interpret it as reaching outer space. My plan is to have “stars” or “atmospheric elements” all over the dark navy area reaching to the top. I guess let’s see how that will turn out on the next entry yeesssssh?

I continued with the same weaving techniques: Plain weave, Soumak Braid Weave, Pile Weave and some Rya Knots. All these techniques I learned with the help of none other Mr. YouTube and the lovely theweavingloom

Anyway here’s a close up of the weaving:

2.jpg

Now moving on to the threads of life part, weaving is a pretty therapeutic but repetitive process. When you’re stressed out and need a way to release all those tensions but being productive at the same time, weaving is definitely something you can try. It’s not hard to begin with, you don’t need a lot of materials, you just need perseverance!

But, if you’ve been weaving for a while now and kind of know the jizt of it, it can get a little repetitive and for me at least, my mind goes really empty and jadi “bengong”. So, here’s a list of things I like to do while weaving:

  1. Watching series

I go to 123movies.com and I start a new series usually. I like something that is light and doesn’t require a lot of thinking because why use your brain? No actually, I don’t like heavy content because I can get so engulfed in the story and it affects my day to day emotions, it gets really bad sometimes so I tend to avoid it lol. So I like watching New Girl and I started watching Big Little Lies (so addictive!!!! got a 92% on Rotten Tomatoes so ya, its legit).

New_girl_season_4_2.jpgMV5BN2VjYmU2NjYtMzgyZi00YmYwLWJhNWUtNTk4ZmRmNWNmZTljL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNDkzNTM2ODg@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpg

2. Listening to podcasts

I am late in this whole podcast game. I just discovered podcast early this year and I’ve gotten hooked ever since. My favorite podcasts are The Mystery Show (I was so bummed to find out that the show got cancelled, the story of how they got cut off is pretty dramatic too) and Modern Love. Literally, when I started Modern Love, I balled with every story. Their story telling is so captivating, their stories hits you right on the gut and makes you sympathise so much with the writer. I think one of my favorite epsisode is “Two Decembers” read by Haydn Gwynne, it is about “one woman’s quest to reclaim one of the hardest days of her life — her birthday”. If you haven’t tried listening to podcasts then I tell you, start tooooooodayyyyyyyyy!!

00c49440d4dd152133ac59213fcf8dc4.jpgicon_469516571-eed09a8ce68ec32b5d848c94a34ac6048032eec5-s300-c85.jpg

3. Listening to whole albums/discover weekly on Spotify

Weaving’s my chance to take a step back and catch up on what I’ve been missing in the music world. I am so bad at keeping up with music trends and new music releases so weaving’s kind of my excuse to also listen to whole albums and discovering new songs without feeling guilty for spending so much time without being productive. And now thanks to Spotify premium, I can listen to whole complete albums uninterrupted and they even compile songs to discover based on their analysis of what I like to hear (yuuuuuuyyys). The whole albums that I’ve been listening is Drake’s new album: More Life. But here’s a list of other songs that I’ve been liking:

  1. Chanel – Frank Ocean
  2. Kiss My Girlfriend – Etta Bond, Chris Loco
  3. HUMBLE. – Kendrick Lamar
  4. Jump Hi – Lion Babe
  5. Dennis Rodman – Mansionz

3.jpg

Yup, so this wraps up this week’s entry. I know it’s kind of all over the place, maybe a little bit tmi, maybe a little self cantered but I’m pretty sure 99% of you reached the end of this entry so if you did I REALLY APPRECIATE YOU!!!! THANK YOU DANKE LOVE YOU!:) And if you end up liking it and want to see the progress of my “crafting journey, threads of life” just stay tuned for the next blogspot!

In the meantime you can follow me on my Instagram: @ancillaquena for daily updates!

Written by: Ancilla Quena Muljono

Leave a Reply

